Leave a comment

Statements from Dale Jamaluddin Marcell and Cat Stevens about the Islam rumor.

“Lastly – many have been in touch with me over the past year to inquire about my personal relationship with Michael Jackson. A November 21, 2008 Sun (UK) article spread internationally stating that Michael had adopted the religion of Islam through friendship with both myself and my colleague Idris Phillips during recording sessions in Los Angeles. For the record: Though our professional circles did cross-over slightly with various common professional acquaintances – I never had the honour or pleasure of meeting Micheal Jackson personally, nor did we ever correspond on matters of our professions, personal lives or faiths.” -Dale Jamaluddin Marcell. Dear Alaa Omae, Thank you for your question. Though I cannot speak for Yusuf Islam, I personally did not release a public statement about the false November 2008 article (originally published in the Sun and subsequently appearing in numerous other major international papers) simply because tabloid papers, known for their poor journalism, cheap gossip and sensationalize of people’s lives, are of no interest to me. Secondly – last year’s article appeared in the news only days before Mr. Jackson was to resolve sensitive legal matters with one of his previous financial backers. Publicly refuting the article may have only drawn more attention to the rumors surrounding Mr. Jackson’s faith – at a sensitive time for him – and been a cheap way of using his name/persona as a means of drawing attention to my own work. Lastly – Mr. Jackson’s lawyer went on the record shortly after last year’s rumors spread and clearly stated that the initial article in the UK Sun was false. There was no need for me to say or do more. It is the responsibility of educated consumers to verify what they read – especially in poorly written tabloid papers. With Mr. Jackson’s passing, religious communities have now shamelessly joined the media in a circus of sensationalizing his death. Out of respect to the Jackson family, and out of a desire to mourn his loss, I published this blog which I hope “clears the air” surrounding rumors of my involvement in Mr. Jackson’s religious choices. My approach to faith does not include concepts of “conversion/reversion” or “propagation”, so the very idea that I would have even tried to “convert” Mr. Jackson (or anyone else for that mater) to my spiritual perspective, is silly. Nor is my faith validated by others who may adhere to scriptures, practices or traditions I may follow – regardless of who they are or how high profile they may be. Michael Jackson’s faith is quite plainly none of my business. I judge individuals by their actions and not by their places of worship. My meditations, prayers and thoughts of good will go out to all of humanity – regardless of culture, creed or religious practice. As I respected Michael Jackson for his artistic abilities, positive writings and charity work – naturally he and his family are in my prayers. – DW (Click the image to open in full size.http://wharnsby.com/blog1/2009/06/26/the-passing-of-michael-jackson/) Contrary to persistent press rumours, I was not at any kind of conversion ceremony for Michael Jackson. Nor, I believe, was Dawud Wharnsby or any of the others mentioned in connection with the story. Granted, I was in Los Angeles at the time these rumours first appeared – but I was busy filming a video for a new song, Boots & Sand. I have met Jermaine Jackson, Michael’s older brother, who became a Muslim some years ago. As for Michael himself, I hope that he finds inner peace and can return to making the kind of music that has inspired generations. -Yusuf Islam (http://www.yusufislam.com/faq/did-yusuf-help-jackson-become/)

source:mjjcommunity

About zeromarcy

personalità poliedrica, complicata ma allo stesso tempo semplice. Ariete ascendente leone, amante dell'arte, della filosofia che si interessa anche a temi come la religione, la politica! Estremamente ottimista, credo in me stessa, e nel mio futuro... Politicamente scorretta, non sopporto gli egoisti, gli avari, ma neanche gli spendaccioni! Mi piace la musica e in particolare Michael Jackson e Renato Zero, non sono una che si beve tutto quello che dicono i Tabloids(i giornaletti rosa iper gossipati)anzi ne farei voeltieri carta straccia!! Mi piace l'essere fashion, amo collezionare cd e cose musicali, in particolare di MJ e Renato Zero, mi piace disegnare, cantare, fare creazioni grafiche , mi piace la pittura e i miei pittori preferiti sono la mia amica Cristina e il Caravaggio! Mi piace la natura, andare nei musei, in giro per roma...e fare shopping! Mi piace Viaggiare, scrivere racconti e poesie...cogliere l'attimo e non pensare poi "peccato potevo provarci"!

Leave a Reply

